Railways humble J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 5 (UNI) Debutant Karan Sharma scored a fine century (120) and skipper Sanjay Bangar scalped four wickets as former champion Railways inflicted a humiliating innings and 88-run defeat on the face of Jammu and Kashmir with a day to spare in the Group ''B'' plate league match of the Ranji Trophy tournament here today.

The victory earned Railways five points.

Jammu and Kashmir had scored 194 in their first innings and Railways in reply posted a huge total of 405 before getting all out to take a vital 211-run lead.

Resuming at their overnight score of 307 for seven, Railways added 98 runs to their total in 32.2 overs before being all out.

Karan Sharma, over night 68, made the bulk of scoring for the Railways this morning, contributing 52 runs and in the process earned the distinction of scoring a century on debut.

Sharma's 120 included 17 hits to the fence as he batted for 318 minutes.

Jammu and Kashmir in their second outing were bundled out for paltry 123.

The visitors reply began on a disasterous note as they lost half of their side when the score was reading 39. However, an unbeaten 44 by Sarabjit Singh (5x4s), Vijay Sharma's 19 and S Beigh' 18 helped Jammu and Kashmir to cross the three digit mark.

Former India player Sanjay Bangar took four wickets conceeding 29 runs in his 8.5 overs, while Harvinder Singh claimed two for 36.

Scoreboard: Jammu&Kashmir (first innings) 194 all out Railways (first innings) : Siddharth Joshi b Vijay Sharma 27 A Pagnis lbw S Malik 49 S Bangar c Sarabjit Singh b S Beigh 48 H Rawle c I D Singh b S Beigh 15 S Sanyal c Sarabjit Singh b S Beigh 46 M Rawat c S.Malik b S Beigh 00 Karan Sharma b S Beigh 120 M A Khote c Vijay Sharma b I D Singh 09 Harvinder Singh b S Khajuria 38 S Saxena c Sarabjit Singh b I D Singh 11 M S Yadav not out 00 Extras : (b 21, lb 10, w 5, nb 6) 42 Total : (126.4 overs) 405 all out Fall of wickets: 1/47, 2/116, 3/146, 4/169, 5/169, 6/242, 7/279, 8/382, 9/401 Bowling: Vijay Sharma 24-3-63-1 S Beigh 43.4-11-115-5 S Khajuria 18-4-54-1 S Malik 15-0-59-1 Jagtar Singh 18-4-57-0 M Dhar 4-1-9-0 I D Singh 4-0-17-2 Jammu&Kashmir (second innings) : I D Singh run out 07 Sajjad Shaikh c M Rawat b H Singh 03 Hardeep Singh c M Yadav b H Singh 00 M Dhar b S Saxena 13 I Singh lbw M Khote 04 Sarabjit Singh not out 44 Vijay Sharma b M Yadav 19 S Beigh c M Khote b S Bangar 18 S Malik c A Pagnis b S Bangar 06 S Khajuria lbw S Bangar 00 Jagtar Singh c M Rawat b S Bangar 00 Extras : (lb 5, w 1, nb 3) 09 Total : (In 45.5 overs) 123 all out Fall of wickets: 1/13, 2/13, 3/14, 4/19, 5/39, 6/63, 7/103, 8/119, 9/121 Bowling: Harvinder Singh 15-4-36-2 M A Khote 7-0-26-1 S R Saxena 6-2-14-1 M S Yadav 6-1-12-1 Karan Sharma 3-2-1-0 S Bangar 8.5-0-29-4 UNI

Please Wait while comments are loading...