Mumbai's Walawalkar wins INKC title

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 4 (UNI) Beginning from pole position, defending champion Ameya Walawalkar of Mumbai, representing Mohite's Racing, sped home to first positions in both the races of the MRF-MAI Senior Indian National Karting Championships (INKC) to emerge overall winner in the second round of the championships at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore today.

Walawalkar, who had a poor start in the first round at Kochi, managed to finish at the fourth place in one race. He however sped to victory in his World Formula 14 hp karts, completing 20 laps in the first race in 10:21:674, ahead of teammate Ronak Patil and Rayomand Banajee of Speed Rayo Racing.

He maintained the momentum in the second race over 30 laps to take the winner's flag in 15:33:963, with Ronak Patil coming in second and last round's winner, Goa's Audumber Hede slipping into third place.

Walawalkar got 50 points for this two wins, while Patil tallied 40. Their good show helped Team Mohite's racing take the lead in the team championships tally, followed by Speed Rayo Racing and Team Avalanche.

Rayomand Banajee also tasted success in the Rotax Senior category, finishing ahead of Karan Goenka and Pritham Muniyappa in that order.

Following are the results: INKC Sr (1st race 20 1km laps): Ameya Walawalkar (Team Mohite's Racing) 10:24:674; Ronak Patil (Team Mohite's Racing) 10:28:1265; Rayomand Banajee (Speed Rayo Racing) 10:28:286.

INKC Sr (2nd race 30 1km laps): Ameya Walawalkar (Team Mohite's Racing) 15:33:963; Ronak Patil (Team Mohite's Racing) 15:40:483; Rayomand Banajee (Speed Rayo Racing) 15:40:540.

INKC Jr (15 laps of 660m): Nikhil Kashyap (Bangalore) 8:10:470; Mitra Yerawadekar (Pune) 8:14:848; Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) 8:15:953.

KCT: (15 laps of 660m): K R Ganesh (Chennai) 8:17:942; Jatin Vora (Mumbai) 8:21:590; Sohail Sabharwal (Bangalore) 8:28:598.

Rotax Sr: Rayomand Banajee (Speed Rayo Racing); Karan Goenka; Pritham Muniyappa (Team Avalanche).

Rotax Jr: Vishnu Prasad (Chennai); Nikhil Kashyap (Bangalore); Shashank Ravishankar (Kerala).

Rotax Minimax: Arjun Maini; Dhruv Mohite.


Please Wait while comments are loading...