Jailed SP candidate wins Lanji seat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Nov 3 (UNI) Giving a severe drubbing to the ruling BJP, Samajwadi Party nominee Kishore Samrite, who was behind the bars for eight months for launching a crusade against corruption, today won the Lanji seat in the Assembly byelection from Madhya Pradesh's naxal-hit Balaghat district in a 19-cornered contest.

Mr Samrite, who came on the third spot in the 2003 election, wrested the seat from BJP with a margin of 3734 votes, netting a total of 28,779 votes as against 25,045 votes polled by his nearest BJP rival Dhareshwari Bhatere, widow of former minister Dilip Bhatere (BJP), whose death caused the byelection.

32-year-old Samrite contested the byelection from behind bars as he was detained eight months ago on the charge of arson and loot after leading a public agitation against alleged extortion by a market contractor. Seventeen other candidates lost their deposits, official sources said.

Congress candidate Bhagwat Bhau Nagpure fared a poor third scoring 11,738 votes. Two former MPs Kankar Munjare of Janata Party and Sukhlal Kushwaha of Rashtriya Samanata Dal bagged 673 and 1311 votes respectively.

Uma Bharti-led Bhartiya Janshakti nominee Budhram Devgade got only 1096 votes, while Gondwana Gantantra Party candidate Rajeshwar Choudhary bagged 767 votes. Siddharth Patil of Republican Party of India (A) polled 163 votes.

Votes polled by other independent candidates include: Ahmed Syed Qureshi 120, Kalicharan Vaidya 171 , Kesari Prasad Jhanwar 161 , Parasram Adame 1143 , Pooranlal Meshra 489, Prakash Chhuttani 1714 , Bharat Kalbele 1641 , Nina Vijaywashi 3709 , Sukhram Asatkar 645, Utesh Chouhan 597 and Satyawan Wasnik 1045.


Please Wait while comments are loading...