ATC (India) launches Rs 1 cr Domestic League

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Oct 30 (UNI) Association for Twenty20 Cricket (India) today announced a Rs one crore prize money Six-Team ATC Twenty20 League for domestic ATC (India) registered players, ATC (India) president I D Kamboj said here today.

''A total of 18, including 15 league matches will be played at different cities in the country. All matches will be shown live,'' Mr Kamboj after the representatives from 21 states met and discussed the issue.

Besides the prize money of Rs one crore to the winners, the ATC (India) will also give match fee to all players who figure in the ATC (India) League, he said.

Asked where the ATC League will stand between the Indian Cricket League of Essel Group and Board of Control for Cricket in India League, Kamboj said ''we are an independent and democratic body. Our functioning will be transparent. This league is meant only for domestic cricketers. We are promoting entertaining twenty20 version and providing a platform to the young cricketers''.

''However, no restriction would be put on our registered players from participating in the BCCI League or the ICL League,'' he added.

Explaining the mode of selection for the ATC (India) League, Kamboj said a panel of experts would select 120 players for coaching camp and out them 90 would be finally selected and divided into six teams.

The selection for probables will be made during the Senior National Twenty20 Cricket Championship which has been allotted to Andhra Pradesh in May next year, he said.

The Senior Nationals will be played either at Vijayawada or Vishakhapatnam.

Asked whether, the ATC have stadia at its disposal for the league, Kamboj said that Kerala and many other state associations have promised to make available the best playing facilities for the ATC League and other tournaments.

Regarding funding for the league, Kamboj said ''We are negotiating with a number of corporate and business houses for sponsorships. Some of them have already shown interest in our entertaining product.'' Meanwhile, the Maharashtra Twenty20 Cricket Association has been allotted Under-17 Nationals Championship to be held in December while the Andhra Pradesh Twenty20 Cricket Association will host the Under-19 National Twenty20 Championship in February next year.

The Chandigarh Twenty20 Cricket Association has conducted the first Under-15 Twenty20 Cricket Championship which concluded at the Sector 16 Stadium here. As many as 19 state teams competed and Haryana emerged winners.


Please Wait while comments are loading...