Merchant XI retain Sportstar u-19 title with win over Rangnekar XI

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Oct 26 (UNI) Vijay Merchant XI retained the title in the 22nd Sportstar Trophy U-19 MCA Selection Trial tourney, defeating Khandu Rangnekar XI by 81 runs on the last day of the four-day league tie at Karnataka SA ground, Cross Maidan here today.

Medium-pacer Ashay Palkar, named ''Player of the Tournament'', took 3-23 for match haul of 6-76 and supported by leg-spinner Pratik Dengle (3-14), dismissed Rangnekar XI for 91 in the second innings.

Merchant XI topped the four-team league with 12 points, followed by Rangekar XI (8), Dattu Phadkar XI (2) and Vijay Manjrekar XI (0).

Former India opener Sudhir Naik gave away the prizes. Merchant XI had won the title in 2005 and 2006, hence made a hat-trick of triumphs, made more creditable due to the absence of captain and main strike bowler Pushkaraj Chavan, away in Rajkot on Mumbai U-19 duty.

Siddhesh Kinlekar stepped in to take charge on the second day in the final round of league matches, leading the way with the bat for a tournament top score of 82 in the second innings.

Man of match awardees (Rs 2000 each): Gaurav Jathar (Rangnekar XI), Rehmani Sufiyan (Merchant XI), Pushkaraj Chavan (Merchant XI), Ankit Mithawala (Rangnekar XI), Pratik Dengle (Merchant XI), Deepak Shetty (Phadkar XI). Best fielder (Rs 1000 from ex-MCA Jt Sec Bal Mahadalkar: Sudip Chavan (Merchant XI). Cricket bat from MCA Jt Sec Hemant Waingankar, Ramakant Desai Trophy for Player of Tournament and Rs 20,000 cricket kit from Sportstar): Ashay Palkar (Merchant XI) Brief scores: At Karnataka SA ground, Cross Maidan: Vijay Merchant XI 106&221 bt Khandu Rangnekar XI 155&91 in 57.1 overs (Chandrasekhar Thate 43; Ashay Palkar 3-23, Ansul Pandit 2-25, Pratik Dengle 3-14).

At Elf Vengsarkar Academy Oval: Vijay Manjrekar XI 222&279-8 decl (Swapnil Bhoir 52, Gurcharan Yadav 48, Sukhil Venkataramani 49, Nadeem Mehdi 31; Balkrishna Shirke 2-47, Anuj Vakil 2-56) drew with Dattu Phadkar XI 251&192-6 in 49 overs (Deepak Shetty 46 no, Pawan Kumar 40, Nadeem Mehdi 2-33, Abhinandan Sawant 2-31).

Final points position: Merchant XI (12), Rangnekar XI (8), Phadkar XI (2), Manjrekar XI (0).


Please Wait while comments are loading...