DAN reduced to 36 members in Assembly

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Oct 26: The strength of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) coalition has reduced to 36 from the 60-member Assembly following the withdrawal of support by JD(U) legislator Deo Nukhu.

Recently, the Assembly had reduced to 56 following the resignation of four Nagaland Peoples' Front (NPF) legislators.

Former Ministers K Therie, Z Obed, Vatsu Meru and N Yeangphong Konyak, who resigned from the NPF party, also later resigned from the House last month.

Independent legislator Khutovi Sema withdrew his support from the DAN in August last.

JD (U) legislator Huska Sumi announced his withdrawal of support to the DAN government in September last, which was followed by another JD (U) legislator Deo Nukhu on Wednesday last.

Now the DAN coalition has only 36 members with NPF 28, BJP five and Independent three. Opposition Congress has a strength of 17 members and two JD (U) and one Independent are in the House.


Please Wait while comments are loading...