Merchant XI spinners reduce Rangnekar XI to 72-5 in second innings

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Oct 25 (UNI) Leg-spinners Ansul Pandit (2-23) and Pratik Denge (2-14) made up for the absence of Vijay Merchant XI skipper and bowling mainstay Pushkaraj Chavan and reduced Khandu Rangnekar XI to 72-5 at stumps, in the second innings while chasing a target of 173 runs, on the third day of the four-day 22nd Sportstar Trophy U-19 MCA selection trial tournament here today.

Rangnekar XI opener Chandrasekhar Thate continued his first innings form and contributed 43. Having taken a lead of 49 runs in the first innings, the team needs another 101 runs for victory on the concluding day.

Merchant XI resumed at 143-5 and scored 221 in the second innings off 95.5 overs, to set a 173-run target.

Overnight batsman Siddhesh Kinlekar got out on the same score, leaving Sunil Chavria (29) and Ashay Palkar (32 no) to put on 61 runs for the seventh wicket. Rangnekar XI's medium-pacer Swapnil More took 5-29 for a match haul of 9-65, fellow medium-pacer Sagar Krishnani grabbed three wickets for 44 runs.

In another league tie at Elf Vengsarkar Academy Oval, Dattu Phadkar XI resumed at 166-7 and gained 29 runs lead of first innings over Vijay Manjrekar XI, thanks to Deepak Shetty 70.

Off-spinner Gaurav Suryavanshi (4-92) and left-arm spinner Vinit Dhulap (3-77) shared the spoils for Manjrekar XI, who reached 172-6 at stumps in the second innings, with opener Swapnil Bhoir 52 and Gurcharan Yadav 48 being the main run-getters.

Brief scores: At Karnataka SA ground, Cross Maidan: Vijay Merchant XI 106&221 in 95.5 overs (Sunil Chavria 29, Siddhesh Kinlekar 82, Ashay Palkar 32 not out, Sagar Krishnani 3-44, Swapnil More 5-29) vs Khandu Rangnekar XI 155&72-5 in 43 overs (Chandrasekhar Thate 43, Anshul Pandit 2-23, Pratik Denge 2-14).

At Elf Vengsarkar Academy Oval: Vijay Manjrekar XI 222&172-6 in 59 overs (Swapnil Bhoir 52, Gurcharan Yadav 48; Balkrishna Shirke 2-25) vs Dattu Phadkar XI 251 in 75 overs (Swapnil Pradhan 56, Rohan Tondulkar 53, Deepak Shetty 70; Gaurav Suryavanshi 4-92, Vinit Dhulap 3-77).


Please Wait while comments are loading...