Six Indian nominees for 2008 Millennium Technology Prize

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 23 (UNI) Six people from India have been nominated for the 2008 Millennium Technology Prize.

The award comprising one million euros for the winner and 50 thousand euros for the finalists will be presented by Finland President Tarja Halonen in June 2008.

A total of 99 individuals have been nominated for the 2008 Millennium Technology Prize, with candidates being proposed by 88 organisations in 27 countries.

The nomination period for the Prize closed on October 1, 2007.

''The quality of the nominated candidates and their innovations is high. The task of the Selection Committee will not be easy,'' a release said, quoting Dr Tapio Alvesalo, Secretary General of the Millennium Prize Foundation.

Both, distinguished innovators and emerging researchers feature among the candidates. ''Criteria for awarding the prize does not focus on lifetime achievements or purely academic work. The primary criterion is an innovation's impact on the quality of human life and sustainable development. This is how the Millennium Technology Prize differs from many other awards for scientific endeavour,'' added Dr Alvesalo.

The number of nominations received this year were at the same level as in 2006, the last prize round.

The largest number of nominations came from the US(20), followed by Germany and France which had seven nominations each. India had six nominations.

''Professors Tim Berners-Lee and Shuji Nakamura, winners of the two first rounds, have set a very high standard,'' said Dr Alvesalo.

The selection process has already begun.

The nominations received will be evaluated by a team of science and technology experts. This pre-selection group will then prepare a list of candidates recommended for further consideration.

In the next phase, the results of the pre-selection process will be passed to the eight members of the International Selection Committee, chaired by Professor Marja Makarow, Chief Executive of the European Science Foundation.

The committee will then prepare a recommendation for finalists and present it to the board of the Millennium Prize Foundation. The names of three or four finalist will be announced on April 8, 2008.

The winner of 2008 Millennium Technology Prize will be announced on June 11, 2008 at an award ceremony in Helsinki.

The prize is awarded every second year for a technological innovation that helps in significantly improving the quality of human life today and in the future.

The world's biggest technology prize is awarded by Millennium Prize Foundation, an independent fund established by Finnish industry and the Finnish state in partnership.


Please Wait while comments are loading...