Mah Govt appoints 4 judges to hear 1993 riots cases

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Oct 23 (UNI) The Maharashtra government today assigned four courts to take up 16 cases related to the 1993 communal riots in the metropolis, on a priority basis.

Earlier in the day, Deputy Chief Minister R R Patil, while talking to a group of Urdu scribes during an interactive session at his office, revealed that the Special Task Force (STF) has re-arrested 20 absconders, who were accused of arson and loot during the 1993 riots.

Today's development has come in the wake of a report of the special committee set up by the government to identify the cases, which had been closed by the erswtwhile Shiv Sena-BJP government, and which could have been brought for re-trial.

The special committee included Additional Chief Secretary (Home) Chitkala Zutshi and Joint Commissioner (Crime) Rakesh Maria, Mumbai.

The Bombay High Court had nominated, on a temporary basis, four courts to hear the riots cases. They include the courts of P N Deshmukh and M L Tahiliyani, Judges at City, Civil&Sessions court, the court of Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, Metropolitan Magistrate, and R P Bapat-Sarkar, judge of Small Causes court.


Please Wait while comments are loading...