Singapore's Lam Chih Bing wins BILT Open

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Greater Noida, Oct 21 (UNI) Singapore's Lam Chih Bing carded a level-par, 72 in the last round and with a total of 13-under-par, 275 won the BILT golf Open here today to take home the richest cheque of Rs 12,93,200 on the PGTI Tour.

Digvijay Singh finished sole second one stroke behind the winner - with a total of 12-under-par, 276 and earned Rs 8,93,200 for his effort.

Rahil Gangjee, Shamim Khan and Himmat Singh Rai finished tied third with an identical total of nine-under-par, 279.

Rahil carded the lowest round of the day, a bogey-free five-under-par, 67 with birdies second, fifth, eighth, 10th and 15th holes.

Bing had an inconsistent front with a birdie on the second, a bogey on the third and a birdie on the fourth but yet another bogey on the sixth, a birdie on seventh, bogey on eighth and a birdie on the ninth to make the turn at one-under-par for the front nine. He then birdied twice but dropped three strokes to win the title by a single stroke.

''I played very conservatively today as there was a lot of pressure on me as Digvijay Singh was closing in. However, I am very happy with the result,'' said Lam Chih Bing.

Digivay birdied thrice, but a bogey on the par-three seventh saw him make the turn at two-under-par, 34. He picked up birdies on the 15th and 17th holes to card a four-under-par, 68 taking his total to 12-under-par, 276.

Delhi's Shamim Khan carded a two-under-par, 70. He picked up five birdies but the three bogeys spolied his scoresheet.

Himmat Singh Rai had a one-under-par, 71round which included four birdies and three bogyes.

Feroz Ali Mollah finished sixth with a total of eight-under-par, 280. SSP Chowrasia, Ashok Kumar and Arjun Singh finished tied seventh at 281. Gaurav Ghei carded a three-under-par, 69 and finished tied tenth alongwith Vijay Kumar and Matloob Ahmed Rana at six-under-par for the week 282.

Kapil Kumar won the amateur category with a 72-hole total of 318 while Lakhan Singh finished as the runner-up.

Final Scores: 275-Lam Chih Bing , 276-Digvijay Singh, 279-Rahil Gangjee Shamim Khan , Himmat Singh Rai, 280- Feroz Ali Mollah , 281- SSP Chowrasia , Arjun Singh , Ashok Kumar , Vijay Kumar , Matloob Ahmed Rana , Gaurav Ghei.


Please Wait while comments are loading...