Indian MPs attend Yale University programme

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New York, Oct 17: A group of Indian parliamentarians attended the newly-launched India Yale Parliamentary Leadership Programme aimed at providing the lawmakers with opportunities to discuss the issues facing India.

The five-day programme was organised by the Yale University in collaboration with the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) and the India-US Forum of Parliamentarians and was attended by number of Indian MPs.

The programme, which ended on October 13, was complemented by another three-day programme comprising meetings, discussions and interactions with the US government and business officials in Washington.

''The India Yale Parliamentary Leadership Program underscores Yale's longstanding commitment to educating our students for service and leadership. We have gone a step further to include emerging and mid-career leaders,'' Yale University President Richard C Levin said.

The programme reflected the belief that exposure to new fields and ideas could offer insight, perspective and new ways of thinking.

The topics covered in the inaugural India-Yale Parliamentary Leadership Programme comprised Economic and Social Development in India, Democracy and the Secular State, India and China Economic Relations, Affirmative Action, Climate Change and Sustainable Development, Foreign Direct Investment in India, Strategy, Negotiation and Game Theory for the Politician, Strategic Thinking for the Politician and Energy Security.

The parliamentarians were accompanied by Executive Director, Indo-US forum of Parliamentarians, Ramesh Chandran and Assistant Secretary General, for the Americas for the FICCI, Ranjana Khanna .

The India-US Forum of Parliamentarians is a body of leading members formed five years ago. The forum, constituted on the lines of the Congressional Caucus on India and Indian-Americans, has more than 130 lawmakers cutting across party lines.

Mr Baijayant Panda, a prominent member of the Biju Janata Dal from Orissa in the Rajya Sabha, is the current chairman of the forum.

Mr Abhishek Manu Singhvi, a senior Congress party member of parliament and a party spokesperson, is the co-chairman. Mr Omar Abdullah of the National Conference is convener of the forum.

The participating parliamentarians are -- Rashid Alvi (Congress), Deepender Singh Hooda (Congress), Naveen Jindal (Congress), Robert Kharshiing (NCP), Chandan Mitra (BJP), Baijayant Panda (BJD), Dharmendra Pradhan (BJP), R C S Reddy (TDP), Shahid Siddiqui (SP), Dushyant Singh (BJP), Tiruchi Siva (DMK) and Madhu Goud Yaskhi (Congress).


Please Wait while comments are loading...