Ponting wins toss and elects to bat in Nagpur

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Nagpur, Oct 14 (UNI) Australia skipper Ricky Ponting won the toss and chose to bat in the sixth one-day international (ODI) of the seven match series for the Future Cup here today.

However, Australia would be barred from the services of their in-form opener Matthew Hayden as he was ruled out for today's match due to a hip injury which he sufered in the last game in Baroda.

The World Champions lead the series 3-1 after the opening game was washed out.

Australia made only one change bringing back middle-order batsman Brad Haddin, who struck fifties in both the matches he has played in the series, in place of injured Hayden.

India also made one change in right-arm pacer Shanthakumaran Sreesanth who replaced his colleague Rudra Pratap Singh.

Teams: India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Zaheer Khan, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, Brett Lee, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Mitchell Johnson, Brad Haddin.


Please Wait while comments are loading...