14 top teams to participate in Surjit Hockey tourney from Oct 26

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Oct 12 (UNI) Fourteen top teams will participate in the 24th Indian Oil Surjit Hockey tournament scheduled to be held at the newly floodlit Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here from October 26 to November 2.

This was announced by Jalandhar Deputy Commissioner Ajeet Singh Pannu, who is also the President of Surjit Hockey Society and Jagjit Puri, Secretary of the society. .

For the first time the Surjit Hockey tournament matches will be played under lights. Top sixteen teams along with a foreign team, Shadman Hockey Club, Rawalpindi ( Pakistan) have staked their claims for the the glittering trophy alongwith a cash prize of Rs one lakh.

The runners-up team will receive Rs 60,000 cash and a trophy.

The tournament will be played on knockout-cum-league basis.

The participating teams are Punjab and Sind Bank, Indian Airlines, Indian Oil, Punjab Police, Bharat Petroleum, Border Security Force, EME, Corp of Signal, Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala, Namdhari XI, Surjit Hockey Academy, Punjab and Sind Bank Academy, Indian Air Force and CRPF.


Please Wait while comments are loading...