Committee of Eminent Persons meets on Setu Samudram Project

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 11 (UNI) The ten-member Committee of Eminent Persons, constituted by the Centre on the controversial Rs 2427-crore Sethu Samudram Shipping Channel Project (SSCP), held its inaugural meeting here today.

The Terms of Reference of the Committee are to invite objections and suggestions from all concerned, including the writ petitioners in the court cases in the Supreme Court, having interest in the project and to consider all suggestions, proposals and documents after giving them a personal hearing.

The Committee, after detailed deliberations on the matter referred to it, decided to invite objections and suggestions from all concerned by October 31.

All such suggestions have to be sent to Member Secretary, Committee of Eminent Persons on Setu Samudram Shipping Channel Project, The Tamil Nadu Dr Ambedkar Law University, Post Graduate&Research Development Block, "Poompozhil", 5, Greenways Road, Chennai-600028.

The objections and suggestions have to be submitted either through Registered AD or delivered at the Chennai address by October 31.

The Committee will also give a personal hearing from October 29 to November 6 (all days including holidays). Out of this, the period from November 4 to 6 has been kept for giving personal hearing to the writ petitioners, who can come on any of these days. The Committee has Madras University Vice Chancellor S Ramachandran as its Convener,. He is also the Chairman of Monitoring Committee on Environmental Impact Issues of the SSCP.

Mr R K Jain, Managing Director, Indian Ports Association, is the Member Secretary.

The other members of the committee are: Prof R S Sharma - Former Professor of History, Delhi University; Dr M Sakthivel - President of Aqua Culture Foundation of India; Prof Dilip K Biswas - Former Chairman of Central Pollution Control Board, Ministry of Environment and Forest; Dr J R B Alfred - former Director of Zoological Survey of India, Kolkata; Dr S R Wate - Deputy Director of National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), Nagpur; Prof P Jagadeesan - former Vice-Chancellor of Bharatidasan University, Tiruchi, Tamil Nadu; Prof Y Vaikuntham - former Vice-Chancellor of Kakatiya University, Pradesh; and Dr K Paddayya - Director of Deccan College, Pune.


Please Wait while comments are loading...