Sethuraman wins title

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Oct 10: International Master in waitig S P Sethuraman, of Tamil Nadu convincingly won the the title in the Canara Bank sponsored 33rd National Sub-junior Boys Chess Championships with the best tally of nine points, with the final 11th round to be played tomorrow.

His closest rival, another International Master in-waiting from Tamil Nadu, B Adhiban was on eight points.

Sethuraman will meet Adhiban in the last round tomorrow. But even if Adhiban wins and draws level, Sethuraman's higher tie-break score will give him the crown.

In the Girls Section, the title is yet to be decided though Kerala's A Niji has the best tally of 8.5 points by beating R.Bharathi (TN). Niji is one point clear of Shalmali Gagare of Maharashtra who was held to a draw by J Mohana Priya.

In the last round tomorrow, Niji will play white against Shalmali.

If Shalmali wins, she will equal Niji on points and go on to take the title as she has a superior tie-break score. However, Niji requires only a draw to claim the title.

Sehturaman played a brilliant game to smash through the Sicilian Defense of Viani D'Cunha of Karnataka. The game was replete with tactics starting with a knight sacrifice on mid board on the 21st move and culminating on the 34th turn.

Results (Round 10) Boys: S P Sethuraman (TN) 9 bt Viani D'Cunha (Kar) 7; B Adhiban (TN) 8 bt R.Bhuvanesh (TN) 7; Anurag Mhamal (Goa) 6.5 lost to Aditya Udeshi (Mah) 7.5; M R Lalith Babu (AP) 6.5 lost to Prasanna Rao (Mah) 7.5; K Priyadarshan (TN) 7.5 bt N Surendran (TN) 6.5; M Harihara Sudan (TN) 6.5 lost to M Shyam Sundar (TN) 7.5; S Teja Chandra (AP) 6 lost to S Nitin (TN) 7; G A Stany (Kar) 6 lost to Swayams Mishra (OR) 7; Bitan Banerjee (WB) 6 lost to Sandipan Chatterjee (WB) 7 Ankit R Rajpara (Guj) 6 lost to Satyajit Kundu (WB) 7 Girls: R Bharathi (TN) 7 lost to A Niji (Ker) 8.5; Shalmali Gagare (Mah) 7.5 drew J Mohana Priya (TN) 7; M Jagadambal (TN) 6.5 lost to Pon N Krithika (TN) 7.5; M Kushboo (TN) 6.5 lost to Pallabi Roy (WB) 7.5; Pratyusha Bodda (AP) 6.5 lost to Devangi Patankar (Mah) 7.5; K S Nirupama (AP) 6 lost to S V Sathyapriya (TN) 7; J Vaishnavi (TN) 6 lost to C P Atirah (Ker) 7; NLV Anusha (AP) 6 drew with Shaati Majumder (WB) 6; Sukanya Dutta (WB) 6.5 bt Nandhini Saripalli (Goa) 5.5; S Anjana Krishna (Ker) 6 drew V Sreelakshmi (AP) 6;


Please Wait while comments are loading...