NPCIL CMD Shreyans Jain elected as WANO president

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Oct 5 (UNI) For the first time, an Indian scientist has been elected as president of the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) which is scheduled to hold its next meet in India in 2010.

Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) chairman and managing director Dr Shreyans Kumar Jain, who was elected WANO president during the Association's tenth biennial general meeting at Chicago last week, will hold the post till January 2010 when the next biennial general meeting will be held in New Delhi, an NPCIL release here today said.

Dr Jain has made significant contributions to all the facets of the development of nuclear power programme in India.

WANO is a non-profit and non-governmental world body with a mission to maximize the safety and reliability of the operation of nuclear power plants by exchanging information and encouraging communication, comparison and emulation amongst its members. All the nuclear power utilities world over are members of WANO. India, incidentally, is a founder member of this world body.

India also achieved yet another world class distinction with the NPCIL director (operations) G Nageswara Rao being awarded the ''WANO Nuclear Excellence Award, 2007'' for his significant contribution in enhancing nuclear safety and for facilitating improvements in Performance Indicators of the Nuclear Power plants in India.

Mr Rao received the prestigious award at the concluding function of WANO's biennial meeting on September 25.

According to the release, NPCIL has volunteered to host international review of all its power plants with an intention of raising its standards in all facets of its functioning. It has also rendered support for benchmarking of various other plants around the world.

This Government owned company is unique as it has comprehensive capability in all facets of nuclear technology -- design, construction, commissioning, operation, maintenance and life extension of nuclear power plants.


Please Wait while comments are loading...