Saroj Sihag and Ramesh declared best athletes

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sirsa, Oct 4 (UNI) BLJ of Sui (Bhiwani) and Hisar lifted the overall men's and women's trophies, respectively in the XXI Haryana State Games organised by Haryana Olympic Association here today.

BJL Sports Club secured 39 points for the men's overall trophy while Bhiwani with 20 points finished runners-up.

In the women's category, Hisar finished streets ahead of runners-up Jhajjar. The Hisar runners logged 70 points in the track and field events. Jhajjar got 30 points.

International thrower Saroj Sihag and Rajesh were adjudged the best athletes among women and men, resepctively. Saroj set new meet records in discus (54.86m of Seema Antil against old 54.52 m) and shot put (15.34m, against old record of 14.47 m of Seema Antil).

Phoolmati established new meet record by throwing the chained iron ball to a distance of 54.86 metres against old record of 54.80 metres.

Bhiwani prevailed over Sonepat by 2-1 in the men's hockey final of the XXI Haryana State Games at The Sirsa School ground here today.

The winners led 2-0 at half time.

Displaying good shooting, trapping and passes, Bhiwani shot ahead through Pardeep in the 20th minute. Five minutes later Jitender made it 2-1.

Sonepat were able to reduce the margin through Parveen who scored in the 67th minute. Bhiwani forced seven penalty corners which they, however, muffed. Sonepat wasted five penalty corners.

Hisar got the bronze medal.

Arjuna awardee Balwinder Singh Billo distributed the prizes.

At the adjacent Era Group complex, Hisar women emerged winners in handball final. They outplayed Bhiwani by 21-14 after leading 11-8 at half time.

Ishwar (7), Salochna (6) and Beena (4) were the main scorers for the winners. Mukesh topscored for Bhiwani with five points.

Results Men: Javelin: 1 Hanuman (Sirsa) 64:65 m, 2 Sher Singh (Gurgaon) 63:90 m, 3 Jai Chaudhary (Panipat) 59:70 m. 800m: 1 Baljeet (Bhiwani) 2:03:03, 2 Rajesh (Sirsa) 2:04:01, 3 Birbal (Jind) 2:05:68. 200 m: 1 Daya Kisan (Bhiwani) 22:91 sec, 2 Amit (Rohtak) 23:22 sec, 3 Sunil (Hisar) 23:53 sec. Long jump: 1 Pardeep (Faridabad) 6.90 m, 2 Raj Kumar (Sirsa) 6.82 m, 3 Ajit (Hisar) 6.77 m. 400mh: 1 Rajesh (BLJ Sui) 58:69 sec, 2 Satish (BLJ Sui) 1:00:58 sec., 3 Mohit (Kaithal) 1:00:97 sec.

Women: 200 m: 1 Sunita (Hisar) 26:75 sec, 2 Santosh (Fatehabad) 28:68 sec, 3 Monisha ( Rohtak) 29:13 sec. 800m: 1 Sunita (Hisar) 2:25:17 sec, 2 Poonam (Jhajjar) 2:32:11, 3 Sushita (Jakhar) 2:35:50 secs. Javelin: 1 Sonu (Hisar) 39:40 m, 2 Anju Bala (Jhajjar) 37:35 m, 3 Sangita (Bhiwani) 26:36 m. Long jump: 1 Pooja (Hisar) 5:15 m, 2 Sonu (Hisar) 4:87 m, 3 Parveen (Yamunanagar) 4:59 m 400m hurdles: 1 Babita 1:17:82 sec, 2 Sujata 1:18:84, 3 Kavita 2:21:69 sec.

Overall athletic championship (men): 1 BLJ Sui 39 pts, 2 Bhiwani 20.

Women: Overall champions: Hisar 70 pts, 2 Jhajjar 30.

Best athlete (men): Rajesh (Sui) 14, 2 Devinder (Rohtak) 12.

Best athlete (women): 1 Saroj Sihag.

New records: 1 Saroj Sihag (discus 54.86m, old 54.52m and shot put 15.34m, old 14.47 m). Phoolmati (hammer 54.86 m, old 54.80m).

Basketball (women): 1 H isar, 2 C.B.S.M., Nidani, 3 Jind. Men: 1 Hisar, 2 Sirsa, 3 Gurgaon.


Please Wait while comments are loading...