Top seed Aditya, wild carder Yuki Bhambari in quarters

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 2 (UNI) Top seed Aditya Madkekar overpowered Arjun Goutham 6-1, 7-6 (7/1), but it was Delhi's Yuki Bhambri who hogged the limelight in the DSCL Open National tennis championship here today.

On an action-packed day, Yuki, competing in the senior level at the Nationals for the first time, showed amazing consistency to shut out Chandigarh's Tushar Liberhan 4-6, 6-4, 6-1 to enter the quarter-finals.

The teenager had made his presence felt strongly at the qualifying stage of the Kingfisher Airlines Open in Mumbai last week, and this week too, Yuki looked in good touch.

Competing against the more experienced Tushar, Yuki, who trains at the DDA Siri Fort complex, did not let pressure get to him in a long match played in slightly hot conditions.

Yuki now faces seasoned Vinod Sridhar in the quarter final.

Vinod, the former National champion, used his guile to defeat Rohan Gide 6-3, 6-1.

Another big upset of the day was when Tamil Nadu's Prajnesh Gunneswaran packed off third seed J Vishnu Vardhan 6-4, 6-3. Vishnu, who had served-and-volleyed his way past Shivang a day earlier, could not find his timing today as he tried to hit with power, but was of no avail against Prajnesh, for whom this was the biggest win of his career in the men's section.

Lower down the draw, Vijay Kannan, a player who uses slow pace and slice to good effect, halted Fariz Mohammad 6-2, 6-1.

In another interesting match, Navdeep Singh prevailed over Marquis Christopher in three sets. Marquis, who trains under Prahlad Srinath at the MBTA in Bangalore is a promising player who will be watched with interest in the future.

In the under-18 boys' singles, Marquis retired after being level 1-1 with Akash Wagh.

However there were no major upsets in the women section Results: Men's (Second round): Aditya Madkekar bt Arjun Goutham 6-1, 7-6 (1); Yuki Bhambri bt Tushar Liberhan 4-6, 6-4, 6-1; Ashutosh Singh bt Rohan Gajjar 4-6, 6-3, 2-0 (retd); Vijay Kannan bt Fariz Mohammad 6-2, 6-1; Navdeep Singh bt Marquis Christopher 6-0, 6-7 (2), 6-1; Vinod Sridhar bt Rohan Gide 6-3, 6-1; Vivek Shokeen bt Abhijeet Tiwari 6-0, 6-2; Prajnesh Gunneswaran bt Vishnu Vardhan 6-4, 6-3.

Boys' (Third round): Prajnesh Gunneswaran bt Sivakumar Sidharth 6-2, 6-1; Abhijeet Tiwari bt Tejas Chaukuulkar 6-0, 6-1; Ronak Manuja bt Shiva Sangwan 6-2, 6-4; Vijayant Malik bt V Vignesh 6-4, 6-1; Shantanu Rajput bt Manav Dhawan 5-7, 7-6 (1), 6-3; Sitaram Sudanwa bt Kaushik Das 6-0, 6-0; Akash Wagh bt Christopher Marquis (1-1 retd); Vikram Reddy bt Kinshuk Sharma 6-1, 1-6, 7-5; Sudanwa Sitaram bt Kaushik Das 6-0, 6-0.

Women (Second round): Rushmi Chakravarthy bt Vishaka Sheoran 6-4, 6-2; Sanaa Bhambri bt Kelsey Sundaram 6-4, 6-2; Isha Lakhani bt Tanvi Shah 6-4, 6-4; Aiswarya Srivastava bt Kyra Shroff 7-5, 6-3; Parul Goswami bt Kesika Jayapalan 6-2, 2-6, 6-0; Asha Nandakumar bt Arushi Sharma 6-4, 6-2; Sonal Phadke bt Sheethal Goutham 6-1, 6-3; Rashmi Teltumbde bt Parija Maloo 2-6, 7-6(5), 6-4.

Girls: Vishaka Sheoran bt Arushi Sharma 6-0, 6-0; Aishwarya Srivastav bt Prachi Nadkarni 6-3, 6-2; Tanvi Shah bt Bhavana Suresh 6-0, 6-4; Krya Shroff bt Suresh Janani 6-2, 6-2; Kelsi Sundaram bt V Archana 6-0, 6-2, Shweta K Solanki 6-2, 7-6(5); Sharmada Balu bt Gopika Kapoor 3-6, 6-1, 6-2.


Please Wait while comments are loading...