Meena walks away with 10 km gold in Haryana Games

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sirsa, Oct 2 (UNI) Meena of Jhajjar walked away with the first gold medal in athletics on the first day of the XXI Haryana State Games being organised by the Haryana Olympic Association (HOA) at the Era Group Complex here today.

Meena finished the 10 km walk for women in 56:25.00. Surekha got silver in 1:00.01 as she finished more than one lap behind the leader. Menakshi of Rohtak bagged the bronze with a timing of 1: 12.11 seconds.

A blunder by Dinesh of Rohtak cost him the gold in the 10,000 metres race for men and Devinder Singh of Rohtak emerged winner.

Dinesh accelerated his pace at the 600 metres from the finish and exhausted himself. He might have thought that it was his last round.

Devinder overtook this rival at the 200 metres mark from the finish and won in 34:22.00 seconds.

Dinesh had to satisfy himself with silver in 34:29.00, while Kawaljeet of Sonepat raced for the bronze in 35:14.00 seconds.

Surender of Yamunanagar became the fastest runner of Haryana by winning the 100 metres dash for men, clocking 10.79 seconds. Ajay and Dayakishan, both of Bhiwani, got second and third places with 11.03 and 11.07 seconds, respectively.

National thrower Saroj Sihag made her mark by throwing the iron ball to a distance of 15.34 metres in her second attempt. Neelam of Bhiwani and Suman of Jhajjar got silver and bronze with 13.10 metres and 9.20 metres, respectively.

Sandeep of Ambala won gold medal in the 50 kg class in the karate competition. Archana of Rohtak (women individual kata) and Varun Jetly of Yamunanagar (male individual kata) bagged gold in their respective sections.

Results (athletics) (all finals): Men: 1500 m: (1) Rajesh (Sui) 4:13:44, (2) Birbal (Jind) 4:13:63, (3) Sanjeev (Rohtak) 4:13:80.

High Jump: (1) Pardeep Kumar (Sui) 1.95 m, (2) Vipin Kumar (Bhiwani) 1.90 m, (3) Navjot (Hisar) 1.85m.

Shot Put: (1) Malkhan Singh (Faridabad) 16.12 m, (2) Naveen (Sui) 15.33 m, (3) Jagvir Singh (Bhiwani) 14.76 m.

10000 m: (1) Devender (Rohtak) 34.22 , (2) Dinesh (Jhajjar) 34.29, (3) Kamaljeet 25.14.

100 m: Men (1) Surender (Yamunanagar) 10.79, (2) Ajay (Bhiwani)11.03, (3) Daya Kishan (Bhiwani) 11.07.

Women: 100 m: (1) Reetu (Hisar) 13:35, (2) Babita (Yamunanagar) 13.40, (3) Sunita (Rohtak) 14.10.

1500 m: (1) Munesh (Rohtak) 5:04.31, (2) Meena (Jhajjar) 5:06.69, (3) Sujata (Rohtak) 5:16.69.

Shot put (women): (1) Saroj Sihag (Hisar) 15.34 m, (2) Neelam (Bhiwani) 13.10 m, (3) Suman(Jhajjar) 9.20 m.

10 km: (1) Meena (Jhajjar) 56:25.00, (2) Surekha (Jhajjar) 1:00.01, (3) Meenakshi (Rohtak).

Volleyball (Women): Kuruskhshetra bt Hisar 25-19, 25-16,25-23.

Football (Men): Hisar bt Jind 5-0.

Karata-do: 50 kg: (1) Sandeep (Ambala), (2) Randeep Kaur (Panipat), (3) Chanda (Karnal).

Individual kata (women): (1) Archana (Rohtak), (2) Parvinder Kaur (Panipat), (3) Monika (Jind).

Individual kata (men): (1) Varun Jetly (Yamunanagar), (2) Jasbeer (Kurukshetra), (3) Sunil Rathi (Jhajjar).


Please Wait while comments are loading...