Indian Airlines lifts T20 Symbiosis Super Shield

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Pune, Oct 2 (UNI) Skipper J Arunkumar slammed a rapid-fire unbeaten 105 from 60 balls (14x4s, 3x6s) to script Indian Airlines' a 21-run victory over D Y Patil in the finals of the inaugural Symbiosis Super Shield T20 Corporate Cricket tournament here today.

Indian Airlines hammered a match-winning total of 198 for four in the stipulated 20 overs. Former Karnataka opener Arunkumar was in a punishing mood and rattled 14 fours and three sixes in his unfinished 60-ball knock of 105. He was ably assisted by Rajat Bhatia who hammered a sizzling 23-ball knock of 42 not out which conatined five fours and a six.

The other scorer was R R Parida who contributed 33 from 20 balls with seven fours. Ishwar Chaudhari claimed two wickets for 30, while skipper Abey Kuruvilla had one for 40 from the stipulated four overs. Shoaib Shaikh claimed one for 31.

Chasing the imposing total, D Y Patil XI could muster 177 for the loss of eight wickets. Middle order batsman Ajay Kudwa produced a blistering knock of 84 from 46 balls (8x4s, 5x6s). With the exception of Shoaib Shaikh (24 off 13 balls) no other batsman could withstand seamer Sachin Rana's fiery bowling, attack who emerged the most successful bowler taking four for 33. Ajit Chandela claimed two for 50.

Indian Airlines pocketed a fat cheque of Rs five lakh and a glittering shield, while D Y Patil XI had to rest content with Rs two lakh and a trophy.

J Arunkumar bagged three awards -- Man of the Match, the Man of the Tournament, and also the Best Batsman scoring 212 runs (105 and 63) and was richer by Rs 60,000. Yogesh Takawale of D Y Patil was adjudged the best wicket keeper and was awarded Rs 20,000 while Ajit Chandela who captured maxium wickets (10 for 124 including a hat-trick) and team-mate Abhisheik Raut were named the best fielder and received Rs 20,000 each.

Union Agriculture Minister and BCCI President Sharad Pawar gave away the prizes. Mr Pawar also felicitated former team India manager and captain Chandu Borde who could not be present on the occasion and the memento was received by his son Uday and brother Ramesh on his behalf.

Also felicitated on the occasion were former pacer Vasant Ranjane, former Maharashtra captains Hemant Kanitkar, Milind Gunjal, Raju Bhalekar. Shantanu Sugvekar, Vijay Shetty, Srikant Kalyani, Srikant Jadhav and former Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) octogenerian president Bal Pandit.

Brief Scores: Indian Airlines 198 for 4 (J Arunkumar 105 not out, R R Parida 33, Rajat Bhatia 42 not out; Ishwar Chaudhari 2/30, Shoaib Shaikh 1/31, Abey Kuruvilla 1/40) beat D Y Patil XI 177 for 8 (Ajay Kudwa 84, Swapnil Asnodkar 23, Shoaib Shaikh 24; Sachin Rana 4/33, Ajit Chandela 2/50, Rajat Bhatia 1/25, Sonu Sharma 1/30).


Please Wait while comments are loading...