Abhey Chautala, Malik re-elected to HOA

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sirsa, Oct 2 (UNI) After being re-elected as the president of Haryana Olympic Association (HAO) Abhey Singh Chautala today categorically stated that the state government cannot appoint a administrator for the association as no financial stake of the government was involved in the body.

Talking to newspersons at the special general body meeting at the Jan Nayak Chaudhari Devi Lal Vidyapeeth here, Chautala said, that he had consulted legal advisers for filing a defamation case against the state government as a Sirsa court had allowed the HOA headed by him to conduct the State Games and use the association banner. But the state government had been putting hurdles in the functioning by appointing an Administrator, which is illegal and unconstitutional, he added.

He claimed that the Administrator had been probably appointed by Congress MP Naveen Jindal, who was heading the 'other HOA faction.

Coming out strongly against the appointment of cricketer Joginder Sharma as Deputy Superintendent of Police, Mr Chautala said that he was not against appointment of sportspersons. However, there are a number of sportspersons who are more qualified than Joginder.

He however hailed the appointment of Mamta Kharab as DSP in the Haryana Police as she was the captain of the Indian hockey team that won gold in the 2002 Commonwealth Games, silver in 2006 Commonwealth Games and bronze in 2006 Doha Asian Games.

Termining cricket as the game of 'goras' (Englishmen), Chautala said the government must treat other sports disciplines on equal footing.

''I am not against the government announcing cash and other benefits to the cricketers, my point is why other games are getting step motherly treatment,'' he said.

In the special general body meeting out of 35 affiliated units, authorised representatives of 32 associations/boards/institutions attended the meeting. Randhir Singh of Haryana State Athletic Association was appointed returning officer for the election.

In the election Bijender Singh proposed the name of Abhey Chautala for the post of president and the entire house seconded it.

The house also authorized Chautala to nominate his team.

However, the returning officer ruled that election for the posts of secretary general and the treasurer must be held today. Dr M S Malik and Bhupinder Singh were unanimously elected secretary general and treasurer respectively. H S Bhadu was appointed joint secretary-cum-director of HOA.

Chautala, who is also president of the Amateur Boxing Association of India, appointed the other office-bearers of HOA.

Vice-presidents: Ashok Arora, Gopichand Gehlot, Jaswinder Singh, Surinder Singh Barwala, Vijay Partap, Bimla Sangwan.

Executive Members: Puran Singh Dabra, Kuldeep Singh, Dalbir Singh Kharb, Duli Chand, Om Prakash, DN Chadha and Sandeep Godara.


Please Wait while comments are loading...