Suspensions weigh for Inter and PSV

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

MILAN, Oct 1 (Reuters) Inter Milan will again be without suspended defenders Maicon, Ivan Cordoba and Nicolas Burdisso for tomorrow's Champions League match with PSV Eindhoven, who will also miss Dirk Marcellis and Mike Zonneveld due to bans.

Inter's defensive trio, as well as striker Julio Cruz, are still serving European suspensions from the mass brawl in the first knockout round defeat to Valencia last season.

Their absences contributed to the Italian champions losing 1-0 at Fenerbahce in their opening Group G game two weeks ago.

Cruz and Cordoba serve the final game of their suspensions against the Dutch titleholders but Maicon and Nicolas Burdisso have two and five matches of their respective bans left.

Fellow defenders Cristian Chivu and Marco Materazzi also missed the trip to Istanbul with injuries.

Romania's Chivu has recovered from a shoulder problem and is expected to start Inter's first ever match with PSV but Materazzi is almost certainly out with a thigh injury.

Patrick Vieira is also battling to regain fitness, after he aggravated a hamstring injury playing for France last month.

The Italian champions lead Serie A after crushing AS Roma 4-1 in Saturday's top-of-the-table clash.

Ronald Koeman's PSV, who are third in the Dutch standings, beat CSKA Moscow 2-1 last month in their opening Champions League game.

The victory was largely thanks to Dane Kenneth Perez, who replaced injured playmaker Ibrahim Afellay in the 27th minute and soon made a difference.

Perez set up Danko Lazovic to break the deadlock in the 59th minute and personally sealed the win 10 minutes before time.

Marcellis completes the last match of the two-game suspension he received for the red card picked up against Liverpool in the second leg of the quarter-final last term.

Midfielder Zonneveld will also serve the end of a two-match ban.

Probable teams: Inter Milan: 12-Julio Cesar; 4-Javier Zanetti, 26-Cristian Chivu, 25-Walter Samuel, 6-Maxwell; 5-Dejan Stankovic, 15-Olivier Dacourt, 19-Esteban Cambiasso, 21-Santiago Solari; 18-Hernan Crespo, 8-Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

PSV Eindhoven: 1-Heurelho Gomes; 3-Carlos Salcido, 4-Manuel da Costa, 18-Eric Addo, 13-Alcides; 15-Jason Culina, 6-Timmy Simons, 8-Edison Mendez; 11-Kenneth Perez, 10-Danny Koevermans, 9-Danko Lazovic.

Referee: Kyros Vassaras (Greece) REUTERS BJR RK0929

Please Wait while comments are loading...