President presents LBS National Award to M S Swaminathan

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 1 (UNI) President Pratibha Devi singh Patil today presented the eighth Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award to renowned Agricultural Scientist Monkombu S Swaminathan for Excellence in Public Administration, Academics and Management for 2006 at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan here.

Ms Patil gave away the award to Dr Swaminathan in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the food security, alleviation of poverty, conservation of environment and natural resources, improving the status of women and young people, economic welfare and social recognition to everyone, expanding the Green Revolution into an Evergreen Revolution that transcends the boundaries of developing nations.

Dr Swaminathan, born on August 7, 1925, in Tamil Nadu, has received 53 honorary doctorates from various reputed universities all over the world and is also a Fellow of many prestigious national and international scientific academies, including the Royal Society of London and the US National Academy of Sciences.

His contribution included development of high yielding strains of wheat and rice, and accomplished crosses in potato and jute species and formulated various schemes and projects to provide the benefits of his research to the grass-root farmers.

Presently, Dr Swaminathan the UNESCO Chair in Eco-technology at M S Swaminathan Research Foundation in Chennai and is also the President of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

The Government honoured him with Padma Shri in 1967, Padma Bhushan in 1972 and Padma Vibhushan in 1989 and nominated him as a Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha).

The award, instituted by the Lal Bahadur Shastri Institute of Management (LBSIM), carries a cash award of Rs one lakh plus a Citation and a Plaque. The awardee's name is inscribed on the Honours Roll of LBSIM and he/she is designated as Lal Bahadur Shastri Fellow.

The earlier receipients of Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award are: Prof C K Prahalad: 1999, Mr Sam Pitroda: 2000, Mr N R Narayana Murthy: 2001, Dr R A Mashelkar: 2002, Mrs Ela Ramesh Bhatt: 2003, Dr C P Srivastava 2004 and Dr Naresh Trehan: 2005.


Please Wait while comments are loading...