Counting of votes of ULB election begins

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Sep 30 (UNI) According to initial reports Janata Dal (Secular) was leading as counting of votes for the Urban Local Bodies elections held on September 28 began here today.

Congress was placed second with JD(S) coalition partner Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in third place.

The State Election Commission sources told UNI that the counting for 209 local bodies which begun at 0800 hours, except for some minor incident in Bijapur district, was progressing peacefully. In Indi Taluk of Bijapur district some party workers, who tried to enter the counting hall without permission were chased away by the police.

A record number of more than 25,000 candidates are in the fray for 4820 wards and the counting was expected to be completed by evening.

Congress suffered a setback when it lost the Gurumitkal Town Panchayat in Gulbarga district which falls in Gurumitkal Assembly Constituency, the home district of KPCC President Mallikarjuna Kharge.

JD(S) also registered resounding victory in Holenarasipur City Municipal Council, winning all the 23 wards, in Hassan district, and Arasikere CMC. The party candidates also fared well in Chickmagalur, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Mandya, Bangalore Rural, Gulbarga, and Kolar districts.

The Congress gained upper hand in Bidar, Raichur, Haveri and Davanagere districts. The BJP also emerged victories in several City Municipal bodies including Udupi, Puttur, Bantwal, Kundapur, Karwar, Shimoga, Bellary and Haveri districts.


Please Wait while comments are loading...