Fifth leg will see thrilling finishes, double pole for Saran

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Sep 22 (UNI) The stage is set for a thrilling day in the fifth and the penultimate round of the J K Tyre National Racing here tomorrow with the Championship still wide open in the premium Formula Rolon Chevrolet class.

However, in the Formula LGB Hyundai and Swift categories, the young teenager from Chennai Ashwin Sundar is all set to wrap up the championship. Around 50 formula car racers including a racing team from Sri Lanka will be seen in action in four categories - Formula Rolon Chevrolet, Formula LGB Hyundai, Formula LGB Swift and Formula Swift (CE).

Team NK Racing of India's first F1 driver Narain Karthikeyan, has dominated the Formula Rolon Chevrolet category so far with emphatic wins. Leading in the championship tally at the end of the fourth round with 51 points is Aditya Patel from Team NK Racing followed by Rayomand Banajee of Team Prime Racing with 46 points. In third place is Saran Vikram from Team NK Racing with 42 points.

The Team championship position leader is Prime Racing with 99 points followed closely by Team NK with 94 points. Team Amaron WSRF with Leela is in third place with 48 points.

In Formula LGB Hyundai class it is the teenage sensation from Chennai and Team Rams Racing, Ashwin Sunder in the lead with 80 points to his credit. Rayomand Banajee from Team Gemini Racing is in second place with 49 points while Narain Shankar of Team Rams Racing is in third place with 43 points. Team Rams Racing heads the team championship table with a tally of 122 points followed by Gemini Racing with 97 points. WSRF with Leela are in 3rd place with 35 points.

Ashwin Sunder of Rams Racing is in the lead in the Formula LGB Swift category after four rounds with a tally of 71 points. He is followed by Aditya Patel of Team Gemini Racing with 43 points.

Karthik Shankar and Ajay Kini - both from Team WSRF with Leela - are tied in third place with 35 points each. Team Rams Racing leads in the team championship with 98 points followed closely by Team WSRF and Leela with 93 points. Team Gemini Racing is in third place with 76 points.

The qualifying rounds for the fifth round were held today in which Saran Vikram and Karthik Shankar annexed double poles in FormulaSwift and Formula Hyundai classes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...