Resigned MLAs in Nagaland quit NPF

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Sep 21 (UNI) The four dissident legislators of Nagaland Peoples' Front (NPF), who resigned from the Assembly on Tuesday last, today quit the party, an ally of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN).

The legislators, in a letter to the NPF president, had expressed their dissapointment over the party's dismal performance on all fronts, including the Naga political dialogue and implementation of Centre's Common Minimum Programme.

The MLAs-- Kewekhape, Z Obed, Vatsu Meru and Yeangphong Konyak -- also pointed out that earlier they were suspended from the party for more than two years without any hearing.

Meanwhile, NPF president Shurhozelie, also the state Planning and Urban Development minister, commented that the resignation of the four and withdrawal of support by one Independent legislator Khutovi, would not affect the DAN government.

At present, in the 60-member Assembly NPF has 28 legislators after the four's resignation, BJP (five), JD (U) (two), Independent (four) and Congress (17).


Please Wait while comments are loading...