MRF, Air India, IndianOil win in Atray Cricket

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sept 20 (UNI) MRF of Chennai routed ITC of Delhi by 107 runs in their maiden appearance and collected five points, including one bonus, in 14th All India JP Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament here today.

Batting first after winning the toss, MRF posted 287 run for 8 in 50 overs. Openers Daniel Manohar and Swapnil contributed 71 runs for the opening wicket before the latter (30, 5x4s, 1 x6) was snapped by wicket keeper Pradeep Chawla of the bowling of Kuldip.

Skipper Venu Gopal Rao joined Manohar and were associated in a 86-run stand for the second wicket. Daniel Manohar was stumped by wicketkeeper Pradeep Chawla of the bowling of Deepak Sharma for a well made 64 runs of 80 balls inclusive 9 fours and a six.

Deepak Sharma also accounted for Venu Gopal (50, 3x4s, 1x6). The other notable contributors were Saurav Tiwari (45), 1x4s, 3x6s) and Sushil (37 not out, 6x4s). For ITC, Deepak Sharma (2 for 53), Abhishek Sharma (2 for 54) and Ashish Malhotra (2 for 43) were the main wicket takers for ITC.

In reply, ITC were bundled out for 180 runs in 36.5 overs. Vishal Tyagi (33), Pradeep Chowla (27), Praveen Gupta (27) were the main contributors for ITC. Chandran (2 for 23), Shrikant (2 for 25) and Ashish Kapoor (2 for 33) were the main wicket-takers for MRF. Test star Venu Gopal Rao was declared man of the match.

Meanwhile, at the St John's School in Sector 26, Air India thrashed MPCA by five wickets and logged five points, including bonus.

Air India won the toss and opted to field. MPCA were prevariously placed at 21 for 4 after 11.2 overs. Right arm medium pacer Praveen Kumar returned impressive bowling analysis 10-2-21-4. Sunil Dholpure top scored with 25 runs. Left arm spinner Ankit Chawan (4 for 46) prove an able foil to Parveen Kumar.

Chasing the modest target, Parveen Kumar gave Air India a good start by scoring 27 runs of 23 balls with 4 fours and one six. He was ably supported by Prashanat Nayak who remained unbeaten on 39 before Air India reached the total of 123 for 5 in 24.2 overs.

Parveen Kumar received Man of the Match trophy the trophy.

In the third match played at the Sector 3 Stadium Panchkula, IndianOil defeated State Bank of Mysore by 27 runs.

IndianOil were all out for 173 runs in 50 overs. Pinal Shah (32), Ravi Teja (27) and Mithun Barrella (22) were the main scorers for IndianOil. Left arm spinner Noorudin (4 for 31) was the main wicket taker for State Bank of Mysore.

State Bank of Mysore folded up for 146 in 41.2 overs. K S T Sahu (36), Tilak Naidu (35) were the main contributors for State Bank of Mysore. Left Arm spinner Rajesh Powar (3 for 30) and Amit Dani (3 for 26) were the main wicket takers for IndianOil. With this win IndianOil got 4 points. Man of the match was Amit Dani.


Please Wait while comments are loading...