India win toss and choose to bat v South Africa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

DURBAN, South Africa, Sep 20 (Reuters) India won the toss and chose to bat in the final Twenty20 World Cup Super Eights group E match against South Africa today.

Yuvraj Singh, who became the first player to hit six sixes in an over in Twenty20 matches in India's win over England on Wednesday, was ruled out with an elbow injury and replaced by Dinesh Karthik.

Pace bowler Makhaya Ntini, who missed South Africa's win over New Zealand on Wednesday with a stomach virus, returns to action in place of Andre Nel.

Teams: South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Albie Morkel, Vernon Philander, Johan van der Wath, Makhaya Ntini, Morne Morkel.

India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.


Please Wait while comments are loading...