Oil India take lead in PSPB Inter-Unit Golf

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 14 (UNI) Abhishek Jha carded 68 to help Oil India 'A' take a two-stroke lead over Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) 'A' on the opening day of the strokeplay competition at the 28 th PSPB Inter-Unit Golf Tournament at the 72-par Chandigarh Golf Club here today.

Manav Das (69), HS Kang (71), JJ Chakola (71) and Rahul Bakshi (74) were the other chief contributors as Oil India 'A' finished the day with a gross score of 208.

Vikram Rana brought in the day's best card of seven under 65 to lead ONGC 'A' team's challenge. Saurabh Bahuguna (72) and J S Dullet (73) were the other main contributors as ONGC 'A' tallied a gross score of 210.

IOCL-A team of Gagan Verma (72), Karan Vasudeva (72), Chikkarangappa (72) and Moin Malak (76) were in third place with a gross team score of 216 while OIL India 'B' team and BPCL were in fourth and fifth place with gross team scores of 237 and 239 respectively.

Oil India 's Abhishek Jha had an eagle on the second where he chipped-in from ten yards and birdies on the third, fourth, 12th and 13th. He dropped shots on the 15th and 18th.

ONGC's Vikram Rana had a fairytale round punctuated with nine birdies. A tenth tee starter, he dropped a shot on his very first hole where he three putted from 10 feet. However, he bounced back in style to fire birdies on the 11 th, 13th, 14th, 16th and 17th to take the turn at four under. On his return leg, Rana dropped a shot on the first but caught fire with birdies on the fourth, sixth, seventh and eighth holes.

Oil India 's Manav Das had birdies on the second, sixth, seventh, 12 th, 14th and 16th. He dropped shots on the first, third and 15th.

In the skills category, Rahul Bakshi (Oil India ) clinched the best bunker and best average bunker shot competition while Vandana Agarwal bagged the first prize in the best approach shot competition. Vikram Rana continued his good run to win the first prize in the best average approach shot competition.

In the nett category, ONGC 'C' team of Dr. Anil Raja Vijan (70), MS Bisht (68), AK Sharma (82), VK Singh (74) and VP Singh (68) were leading with a tally of 206.

TEAM SCORES (GROSS): Oil India 'A'- 208 (68-Abhishek Jha, 69-Manav Das, 71-HS Kang); ONGC 'A'- 210 (65-Vikram Rana, 72-Saurabh Bahuguna, 73- JS Dullet); IOCL 'A'-216 (72-Gagan Verma, 72-Chikkarangappa, 72- Karan Vasudeva); Oil India 'B'-237 (72-Simarjeet Singh, 80- Vandana Agarwal, 85- PP Dutta); BPCL 239 (73-Amit Nigam, 73-Tarun Ghogale, 105-Sanjay Krishnamoorthy).

Individual Scores: 65 Vikram Rana; 68 Abhishek Jha; 69 Manav Das; 71 HS Kang, JJ Chakola; 72 Gagan Verma, Karan Vasudeva, Chikkarangappa.


Please Wait while comments are loading...