Big B gets best actor honour at 53rd National Film Awards Ceremony

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 14 (UNI) President Pratibha Patil today gave away the 53rd National Film awards at a glittering ceremony, attended by a galaxy of stars from the tinsel world, and other disinguished guests from different walks of life here this evening.

Superstar Amitabh Bachchan was the winner of the best actor award for his role in film 'Black'.

Sarika received the honour for best actress for her performance in film 'Parzania'.

The award for the best feature film 'Kaalpurush '(Bengali), was received by its director Budhadeb Dasgupta and producer Jugal Sugandh.

The Award carries a Swarna Kamal and Rs 50,000 each for Producer and Director of the film. The Best Popular Film, providing wholesome entertainment, was 'Rang De Basanti' (Hindi), and the award was received by its director Rakesh Omprakash Mehra.

The award for the Best Director went to Rahul Dholakia for the film 'Parzania'.

Sai Kumar received the Award for the Best Child Artist for his performance in Telugu film "Bommalata - A Bellyful of Dreams".

The Award for the Best Male Playback Singer was given to Naresh Iyer in 'Rang De Basanti' and the Best Female Playback singer award was received by Shreya Ghoshal for her song in Paheli.

Director of "Riding Solo To The Top Of The World" (English) Gaurav A Jani received the award for the the Best Non-Feature Film.

Best Film Critic Award was given to Baradwaj Rangan.

Nargis Dutt Award for the Best Feature Film on National Integration--'Daivanamathil' (Malayalam) was given to its directer Jayaraj.

Indira Gandhi Award for the Best First Film of a Director was received by Vidhu Vinod Chopra for his film 'Parineeta' (Hindi).

Nagesh Kukunoor receievd the award for the best film on social issues 'Iqbal' (Hindi).

Besides, awards given for the best adjudged films in different Indian languages mentioned in VIII Schedule are: Suman Haripriya's Kadam Tole Krishna Nache (Assamese), Harbart (Bengali) directed by Suman Mukherji, Thaayi (Kannada) by Baraguru Ramchandrappa, Thanmatra (Malyalam) directed by Blessy, Dombivali Fast (Marathi) by Nishikant Kamat, Kathantara (Oriya) directed by Himanshu Khatua, Baghi (Punjabi) by Sukhminder Dhanjal, Aadum Kothu (Tamil) by TV Chandran, and Bommalata (Telugu) by Prakash Kovelamudi.


Please Wait while comments are loading...