17 teams to participate in JP Atray Cricket

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sept 14 (UNI) The 14th All-India JP Atray tournament has attracted 17 entries from all over the country which is the maximum number since its inception.

Announcing this here today at a press conference, organising secretray Sushil Kapoor said the tournament was being played under the auspices of Punjab Cricket Association and is recognised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

It will be played on league-cum-knock out basis and the teams have been divided into four pools. Top team from each pool will qualify for the semi finals.

The participating teams are Punjab Cricket Club, BPCL Mumbai, Canara Bank Bangalore, HPCA Academy, ONGC Delhi, Tripura, CA XI, SB of Mysore, Indian Oil Crop Mumbai, PCA Colts, LIC Cricket Club, MPCA XI, Air India Mumbai, Minerva CA. ITC Delhi, MRF Chennai, RCA XI and MCA Colts.

The matches will be played at PCA Stadium Mohali, DAV School, Sector 8, St John's Schools, Sector 26 and Cricket Stadium Barwala.

As the tournament begins just before the India Vs Australia One Day series, it will give an opportunity to the fringe players to stake their claims for the National Team.

Sunil Joshi, Manvinder Bisla, Mithun Minhas, Amit Bhandari, Sarandeep Singh, Ajay Ratra, Gagan Khoda, Vinayak Mane, Sairaj Bahutule, Avishkar Salvi, Pankaj Dharmani, VRV Singh and Karan Goel are few of the top players playing in the tournament.

Kapoor said that the tournament is being co-sponsored by Ansal API Group, Airtel, Mountshivalik Beverages Industries Ltd, Preet Land Promoters and Canara Bank.

Punjab Cricket Association is providing all infrastructural support including the usage of ground, dressing room, practice facilities and lighting facilities for the day and night match. The Management of DAV School, Sector 8 and St John's School, Sector 26 are also providing the cricketing facilities free of charge.

According to Viswajeet Khanna, Chairman of the Organising Committee all efforts are being made for the smooth conduct of 32 matches of this prestigious tournament at different venues, which is a regular annual feature to perpetuate the memory of Haryana Adl DGP JP Atray, who was a great cricket promoter.

The prize money has been enhanced this year and the winners will get a cash prize of Rs 1.50 lakh, runners-up Rs 60,000, third position Rs 30,000, fourth position Rs 15000.

Doordarshan will telecast live day and night final from 1430 hrs onwards on September 30 from PCA Stadium Mohali.


Please Wait while comments are loading...