Amandeep, Romeo win Stableford title in PSPB golf

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 13 (UNI) Amandeep Bath of Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) and Romeo James, the hockey goalkeeper coach of Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), claimed the Stableford competition with a tally of 47 points on the opening day of the 28th PSPB Inter-Unit Golf Tournament at the 72-par Chandigarh Golf Club here today.

The duo of Chikkarangappa (IOCL) and Rahul Bakshi (OIL) pipped the team of M K Jeelani (BPCL) and S K Dhar (ONGC) on a count-back after both the teams were tied at 45 points.

In the skills competition, Ajoy Barua (IOCL-AOD) won the longest drive with a distance of 245.5 meters, while J J Chakola (OIL) clinched the average longest drive with a distance of 240.71 meters.

Kuldeep Bery, General Manager (Security-Indian Oil) won the longest drive in the 55 and above age group category with a distance of 191 meters.

In the ladies section, Vandana Agarwal (OIL) clinched the longest drive with a distance of 218 meters.

The Stableford event was played on a better ball team format with each team comprising of two players, each from a different unit. In this format the better score of the two partners was counted and hence encouraged aggressive play.

On day-2 tomorrow top stars on the national amateur circuit will vie for the team and individual honours in the Strokeplay event.

Three best scores of a team of five will be taken into consideration for the team championship.

Simarjeet Singh, Abhishek Jha, Joseph Chakola, Rahul Bakshi and Manav Das will be spearheading Oil India's challenge, while Gagan Verma and Karan Vasudeva will lead host Indian Oil Corporation's efforts. Vikram Rana, L.Selvadurai and Saurabh Bahuguna will prop up Oil and Natural Gas Commissions efforts.

Jasjeet Singh, having represented the national side will be the player to watch from GAIL, while Tarun Ghogale and Amit Nigam will spearhead the BPCL challenge.

Players from IOCL (AOD), IOCL (IBP Division) and Balmer and Laurie will also be contending for the title.


Please Wait while comments are loading...