Serrao stuns sixth seed Dharni

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 22 (UNI) Qualifier Ryan Serrao shocked sixth seed Rajanveer Dharni to storm into the quarter-finals, on a disastrous day for the seeds, in the Vazirani All India Ranking Championship Series tennis tournament here today.

Serrao, who experienced a tough opening round yesterday, was forced to endure another strong challenge as he rallied past Dharni 2-6, 7-5, 6-4 in a marathon second round encounter that lasted two hours, 38 minutes at the Vazirani national sports academy.

Dharni got off to a good start after snatching the opening set in a quality contest. But Serrao kept his hopes alive with a crucial 5-4 lead in the second set. Dharni held serve for 5-all before Serrao once again snatched a 6-5 lead and broke Dharni in the 12th game to force the decider.

Serrao survived another scare in the third set after racing to a 5-0 lead. He almost squandered the advantage as a determined Dharni battled his way back into the match to close in at 5-4, before Serrao clinched the 10th game to seal a hard-fought win.

Serrao enjoyed a rewarding day when he also advanced to the boys' under-12 quarter-finals following a convincing 6-2 win over Tanay Gokhale.

Unseeded Gaurav Doshi caused the other big upset of the day when he beat No. 7 Sunil Chaudhry of Gujarat 6-3, 6-4 to join Serrao in the quarter-finals.

Other casualties included boys' under-12 sixth seed Harsh Rane and girls' under-10 No. 8 seed Dakshita Patel.

Results (All PQF): Boys U-14: 1-Vishal Passi bt Aditya Ranade 6-2, 6-0; Ryan Serrao bt 6-Rajanveer Dharni 2-6, 7-5, 6-4; 3-Anirudh Barp bt Aditya Vyas 6-4, 6-1; Gaurav Doshi bt 7-Sunil Chaudhry (Guj) 6-3, 6-4; Yash Deshpande bt vz-Kapil Patil 6-1, 6-1; 4-Adwait Sadwilkar bt Prahlad Pawar 6-0, 6-1; Dhruv Bhatnagar bt Harsh Rane 6-1, 6-2; P. Prabhav (AP) bt Abhinav Iyer 6-1, 6-3.

Boys U-12: Ryan Serrao bt Tanay Gokhale 6-2; Nikil Kannan bt Neil Thanawala 6-4; Abhishek Bhendre bt Azan Maniyar 6-5 (7-3); Sahil Deshmukh bt 6-Harsh Rane 6-1; Kshitij Gupta bt Shubham Kale 6-1; Richi Agarwal bt Saurav Hegde 6-2; 2-Aditya Vyas bt Anish Salelkar 6-2.

Boys U-10: 1-Nikhil Passi bt Indra Patwardhan 6-2; Shubham Kale bt Tanay Gokhale 6-4; Varun Patere bt Neil Thanawala 6-1; Dhir Gala bt Brent Dixon (Pune) 6-1; Ryan Pandole bt Udhav Sasodia 6-1; Sahil Deshmukh bt Arbaaz Maniyar 6-0; Kastubh Deokar bt Ajinkya Vyas 6-3; Nikhil Kannan bt Aryan Goveas 6-2.

Girls U-14: 1-Madhuri Patere bt Rituja Bhosle 6-2, 6-1; 6-Shrushti Bhande bt vz-Asmita Goradia 6-4, 6-2; 3-Shruti Archita bt Bharati Bylapudi 6-2, 6-4; 5-Sukhmani Wadhwa bt Ruchita Ugalmugle 6-2, 6-1; 7-Sneha Devi Reddy bt Majid Rifat 6-0, 6-1; Shamanas Dashti bt Nupura Deshpande 6-0, 6-2; Aishwarya Ingle bt Jinisha Patel 6-0, 6-1; 2-Riddhi Hegde bt Nupur Shinde bt Ashvi Parikh 6-0, 6-2.

Girls U-10: 1-Nandini Das bt Amrita Zadge 6-0; Apurva Barate bt Aboli Goghari 6-0; Vasanti Shinde bt Sharlee Deshmukh 6-1; Heta Kotak bt 8-Dakshita Patel 6-5 (7-3).


Please Wait while comments are loading...