Haryana snatch four-run win over UP in Twenty 20 nationals

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Nov 12 (UNI) Haryana scored a thrilling four-run win over Uttar Pradesh in a Pool G match of the inaugural National Twenty 20 Cricket Championship for Under-19 boys at the DAV Senior Secondary School ground in Sector 8 here today.

Needing 24 runs in last over for victory, Uttar Pradesh mustered 19 runs, with Ajay Chauhan hitting Kuldeep for three massive sixes and one run coming from wide. However, they fell short by four runs.

Set to score 175 runs for triumph, Uttar Pradesh could score 170 for nine in the stipulated 20 overs. Ajay Chauhan in his hurricane unbeaten 45 faced just 25 balls and hit five sixes and two fours but his lion-hearted effort went in vain as Haryana won by four runs.

Uttar Pradesh's other main scorers were Sourav Duney (22) and Krishan Kumar (27, 3x6s). Vansaj Rana (3 for 34), Rahul Rana (2 for 26) and Deepak Dobu (2 for 22) were the most successful bowlers for Haryana.

Earlier, Haryana posted an impressive total of 174 for seven in 20 overs. Opener Shiv Kumar topscored with 62 with the help of seven fours and four sixes, facing 46 balls. With the other opener Sumit Budhwar (12) he put on 35 runs for the first wicket.

Shiv and Tinku (21) put on 40 runs for the third wicket before the former was trapped leg before by Sourav Dubey (2 for 20).

Abhishek Choudhary remained not out on 26. Javed Rana and Sourav Dubey got two wickets each for 45 and 20 runs, respectively.

In a pool A match at the same venue, Punjab outplayed Andhra Pradesh by 72 runs. Punjab scored 176 for eight and dismissed AP for 104. Vishwajit was the wrecker-in-chief of AP innings as he took four wickets for 20 runs.

At the Sector 16 Cricket Stadium, hosts Chandigarh proved too good for Gujarat, routing them by 126 runs in Pool F match. Propped up by Gaurav (67, 8x4s, 2x6s) and opener Amit Prashar (45, 8x4s) Chandigarh piled up 199 for five in 20 overs. Chasing a big total of 200 runs for victory, Hyderabad were restricted to 73 for nine in 20 overs. Only Kuldeep (11) and Bhaumik (12) could reach the double-figure mark.

Maharashtra registered an easy eight-wicket victory over Hyderbad in Pool B fixture. At the Sector 3 Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex in Panchkula, Uttranchal prevailed over Himachal Pradesh by 10 runs in Pool D outing.

Earlier, Haryana Deputy Chief Minister Chander Mohan inaugurated the Nationals and announced a grant of Rs 51,000n for the tournament.


Please Wait while comments are loading...