Munda refuses to comment on swearing-in of four Ministers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Sep 18 (UNI) The BJP today adopted a wait-and-watch stand on the swearing-in of Jharkhand Chief Minister Madhu Koda along with only three other Ministers at the historic Morhabadi ground here.

Though the party earlier urged Governor Syed Sibtey Razi to ensure oath taking of all 12 Ministers, including Mr Koda, outgoing Chief Minister Arjun Munda today refused to comment on it.

Talking to UNI over phone after the oath taking ceremony, Mr Munda said, ''...better to talk to Constitutional experts on the matter. I will not comment on it.'' Yesterday, UPA high-powered steering committee chairperson and Coal Minister Sibu Soren asserted that 12 Ministers, including Mr Koda, would be sworn in.

Mr Soren's claim apparently put at rest all speculation and controversies, sought to be made an issue by the Opposition NDA, which yesterday urged the Governor to ensure that oath of office and secrecy be administered to all the 12 Ministers at one go.

Mr Soren yesterday told reporters here that the Koda-led government would comprise the Congress, JMM, RJD and other UPA partners.

On September 16, senior BJP leader and party Legislator Saryu Rai urged the Governor to ensure that the Chief Minister-designate of the UPA takes his oath under Constitutional provisions with all eleven Ministers, required in the state Cabinet.

Mr Rai sent a letter to the Governor mentioning Article 164(1) of the Constitution, indicating the number of Ministers in the Cabinet should be 12, including the Chief Minister.


Please Wait while comments are loading...